Gills Reserve

Day 215, Saturday 24 March 2018

Today I continued my exploration of Lucas Creek, which I started last week at Kell Park. I started on the other side of the Albany Expressway, where the environs of the creek are called Gills Reserve. The creek is only navigable for a short distance north of the expressway, due to a small waterfall and some cascades. There was a water-driven flax mill just downstream of the waterfall from the 1860s to the early 20th century. Just above the waterfall is a ford. A bridge was build across the creek, but floods washed it away. A higher bridge was built. I’m not quite sure if these bridges were built in the same place as the ford; there’s no sign of a bridge there now.

12

Distance travelled: 59 km. Total distance so far: 28,435 km

Leave a comment